The Belle Vernon Area High School class of 2019 received their diplomas in a commencement ceremony June 4 at James Weir Stadium.

Valedictorian Lindsay Anne Steeber and salutatorian Mallie Janine Nalevanko addressed their classmates during the ceremony.

Steeber is a daughter of Greg and Melanie Steeber of Fayette City.

She served as Class Treasurer and was a member of the National Honor Society, Spanish National Honor Society, Social Studies National Honor Society, Science National Honor Society, Student Council, Interact Club, Spanish Club and Medical Interest Club/Students Against Destructive Decisions.

She was a member of the Lady Leopards basketball, softball and track and field teams and participated in dance.

Steeber’s awards and scholarships include the Duquesne University Academic Scholarship, J. Budd Grebb Memorial Scholarship, Chris Williams Memorial Scholarship Award-Softball, Sasha Zuro Memorial Basketball Scholarship, Donald Asmonga Memorial Scholarship, Bernadette Sokol Memorial Scholarship, Fayette City-Washington Township Lions Club Scholarship and the Seton Hill University Women in Science Mathematics Award.

She was an all-section selection in basketball, a Westmoreland County Scholar/Athlete and Top 12 Finalist, a Roundball Classic All-Star Team selection and a Herald-Standard Elite Scholar Athlete.

Steeber plans to attend Duquesne University and major in political science.

Nalevanko is a daughter of Monica and Robert Nalevanko of Belle Vernon.

She is the recipient of the Rotary Award, Seton Hill University Women in Science Biology Award and school awards for excellence in the subjects of English and Spanish.

Outside of school, Nalevanko has experience tutoring and volunteering at Jefferson Hospital and Holy Ghost Byzantine Catholic Church.

In the fall, she will attend Penn State University to study pre-medicine/biochemistry.

The class of 2019 was also addressed by senior class members Evan Cooney and Jordan French.

The following students graduated with honors: Aaron Brown, Sarah Ann Buza, Paige Cole, Caleb Fine, Thomas Huffman, Taylor Lazzari, Joyce Lin, Corrine Manderino, Baylee Martin, Jessica McClintock, Stephen Palli, Melina Perozzi, Dionne Ruozzi, Robert Spekis and Anastasia Woosley.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.