Uniontown Area High School

Mark Hofmann|Herald-Standard

Uniontown Area High School

The Uniontown Area School District has tweaked its graduation requirements effective with next year’s freshman class to give students more opportunity for elective courses.

The school board voted at its recent monthly meeting to amend high school credit requirements needed for graduation, increasing the number of electives from two credits to 2.5 credits and eliminating a health requirement, which was 0.5 credits.

Health will be embedded in phys. ed. classes.

“We want to get students exposed to courses that may be meaningful to them,” Uniontown Superintendent Dr. Charles Machesky said of the district’s decision to increase the elective credit requirement. The move will allow students to take courses in areas that can prepare them for post-graduation -- such as financial literacy -- that are not compulsory, he said.

“We are not discrediting the importance of health,” Machesky added, noting that health education will be included as part of the 1.5-credit phys. ed. curriculum. “We want to place more of an emphasis on activity and less on ‘sit and get.’”

Uniontown students attending the Fayette County Career and Technical Institute will be required to take 1.5 credits in electives, an increase from one credit.

In other business, the board:

n Approved the 2019-20 school calendar, with Aug. 26 as the first day for students and June 3, 2020, as students’ last day and graduation.

n Hired George Cumberland as security staff assigned to Uniontown Area High School at $9.25 an hour.

n Approved the following head coaches for the 2019-20 school year: Angela Kern, cross county, Ben Franklin/Lafayette; Craig Soltis, football, middle school; Kenneth Musko, baseball, high school; Joe Everhart, cross country, high school; Steve Forsythe, softball, high school; Rachel Jeffries, girls’ track, high school; Ray Robinson, freshman basketball, high school; Lara Dowling, boys’ swim, high school; Debora Holchin, cheer sponsor, Ben Franklin/Lafayette.

n Approved the senior prom to be held May 17 at The Pennsylvanian in Pittsburgh.

n Approved the resignation of cafeteria employee Angela Rodeheaver, girls’ assistant soccer coach Scott Menarcheck and paraprofessionals Brent Lopick and Bobby McDermott.

n Added Sherri Taylor, Mary Gall, Christina Lee, Savannah Clark, Christina King, Deanna DeLorenzo, Patrick Struhar, Samantha Corrick, Zachary Donato and Jordan Kinnick to the professional substitute list.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.