West Greene’s Kiley Meek and Mount Pleasant’s Mary Smithnosky were menacing double threats during the 2021 softball season.

Both used their arm and bat in leading their teams to WPIAL championships and into the PIAA finals.

The pair headline the Herald-Standard All-Area Softball Team.

Smithnosky is the Big School (Class 3A-5A) Player of the Year while Meek is the Small School (Class 1A-2A) Player of the Year.

Meek had a 21-3 record and a 2.00 ERA with 137 strikeouts and 41 walks. She pitched five shutouts with two abbreviated no-hitters and opponents hit just .197 off her.

At the plate, Meek batted .358 with eight doubles, a triple, a team-high seven home runs and 39 RBIs. She had a slugging percentage of .741 and was clutch in the playoffs with a pair of game-winning home runs.

The Lady Pioneers claimed their fifth straight WPIAL title and reached the state final for the fourth time. Meek pitched well in the final and took a shutout into the seventh inning before Tri-Valley pulled out a 2-1 win.

Small School Player of the Year runner-ups were Frazier’s Rylee Evans and Jensyn Hartman and West Greene’s Jersey Wise, London Whipkey and Katie Lampe.

Smithnosky also came up big under pressure, tossing six straight shutouts to start the postseason. She finally was touched up for three runs in the PIAA Class 3A championship game but still threw a four-hitter as the Lady Vikings won, 5-3, over Mid Valley to claim their second state crown.

Smithnosky, an Eastern Michigan recruit, was 16-1 with a 2.29 ERA and 117 strikeouts. She helped her own cause with a .449 batting average with four home runs, 13 doubles and 29 RBIs.

Big School Player of the Year runner-ups were Anna Resnik and Kailey Larcinese of Elizabeth Forward, Amarah McCutcheon of Southmoreland and Haylie Brunson, Courtney Poulich and Katie Hutter of Mount Pleasant.

McCutcheon, a shortstop who was one of the WPIAL’s most dangerous hitters, is the Freshman of the Year.

Mount Pleasant’s Chris Brunson is the Big School Coach of the Year and West Greene’s Bill Simms is the Small School Coach of the Year for guiding their teams to lofty heights.

Coach of the Year runner-ups were Elizabeth Forward’s Harry Rutherford and Frazier’s Don Hartman, who led their respective teams to section titles and the WPIAL semifinals, and Waynesburg Central’s Jim Armstrong who guided the Lady Raiders to a second-place finish behind Mount Pleasant while handing the Lady Vikings their lone loss in Section 3.

Other local teams who earned berths into the postseason were Connellsville, Yough, Belle Vernon, Southmoreland, Carmichaels, Charleroi, Bentworth, California, Mapletown and Jefferson-Morgan.

The complete Herald-Standard All-Area Softball Team follows:

Big School Player of the Year: Mary Smithnosky, Mount Pleasant

Small School Player of the Year: Kiley Meek, West Greene

Big School Coach of the Year: Chris Brunson, Mount Pleasant

Small School Coach of the Year: Bill Simms, West Greene

Freshman of the Year: Amarah McCutcheon

Top 25

Albert Gallatin: Rylee Hlatky

Belle Vernon: Maren Metikosh

California: Mylaina Pendo

Carmichaels: Sophia Zalar, Emma Holaren

Connellsville: Abby King, Jena Hixson

Elizabeth Forward: Anna Resnik, Kailey Larcinese

Frazier: Jensyn Hartman, Rylee Evans, Nicole Palmer

Mount Pleasant: Mary Smithnosky, Courtney Poulich, Haylie Brunson, Katie Hutter

Southmoreland: Amarah McCutcheon, Jess Matheny

Waynesburg Central: Erin Fitch

West Greene: Kiley Meek, London Whipkey, Jersey Wise, Katie Lampe

Yough: Kaylyn Odelli, Savannah Manns

Second Team

Albert Gallatin: Shayla Reynolds

Belle Vernon: Sophie Godzak, Olivia Kolowitz, Lexi Daniels

Bentworth: Jessica Rothka

Beth-Center: Jennifer Zelenick

Brownsville: Kami Franks, Kendra Franks

California: Kera Urick

Carmichaels: Mia Ranieri

Charleroi: Riley Jones, Kylie Quigley, McKenna DeUnger

Connellsville: Maddie Kinneer, Kirra Davis

Elizabeth Forward: Shelby Telegdy

Frazier: Maria Felsher, Delaney Warnick, Victoria Washinski

Jefferson-Morgan: Jasmine Demaske

Laurel Highlands: Payton Vitikacs, Julie Cooper

Mapletown: Macee Cree, Taylor Dusenberry

Monessen: Hannah Yorty

Mount Pleasant: Lexis Shawley

Ringgold: Peyton Laflash

Southmoreland: Emily Eutsey

Uniontown: Sequoia Dunlap, Jordan Hoover

Waynesburg Central: Hannah Wood, Meghan Braun

West Greene: Olivia Kiger

Yough: Emma Augustine

Honorable Mention

Albert Gallatin: Morgan Hershberger, Olivia Goodwin, Ashley Metts

Belle Vernon: Abby Fabin, Ashley Joll

Brownsville: Aubri Jogsett, Claire Zelner

California: Jordyn Cruse, Makayla Boda

Carmichaels: Emma Hyatt, Kendall Ellsworth, Madison Ellsworth, Carlee Roberts

Connellsville: Caitlin Jansen, Ava McLean, Iris Burd

Frazier: Abigail Scott, Skyler Hone

Jefferson-Morgan: Payton Farabee, Kayla Larkin, Madison Wright

Laurel Highlands: Sidney Grimm, Payton Knupsky, Sydney Laclair

Mapletown: Madi Blaker, Devan Clark

Mount Pleasant: Hannah Gnibus, Sophia Smithnosky

Ringgold: Dani Vicchio, Olivia Vicchio, Leah Paquay

Uniontown: Summer Hawk, Morgan Metts, Ty Thanh

West Greene: Lexi Six, BreAnn Jackson

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.