The difference between the Elizabeth Forward or McKeesport girls finishing as undefeated Section 2-AAA champions Tuesday came down to a photo finish.

The Lady Tigers’ Niava Price edged the Lady Warriors’ Corinne Lee-Hauser by .4 seconds for fourth place. The difference led to a 28-30 win by McKeesport for the title.

Makaila Wade finished first in 21 minutes, 42 seconds ahead of her sister Macayle. Thomas Jefferson’s Lydia Shaw placed third in 21:51.

Price’s finish guaranteed victory against the Lady Warriors, needing only Amanda Varga (11, 24:56) and Madison Kwiecinski (13, 25:53) to cross the finish line.

Corinne Lee-Hauser led an EF rush to the finish line after finishing in 22:14.9.

Bailey McLaughlin (23:05), Sophia Lee-Hauser (23:19), Hannah Hebda (23:29), Sara Moriss (24:18), and Natasha Trainor (24:23) rounded out the top-10 finishers.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.